If you’re looking for more information about insuring your South Carolina auto, then you are in the right place! When purchasing auto insurance, it is important to remember that terms, coverages, and minimum limits can all vary from state to state. Whether you have recently moved to South Carolina or are a lifelong resident it is important to know what these minimum requirements are. After you familiarize yourself, Woop can provide you with fast auto insurance quotes that meet your state’s standards.
South Carolina requires drivers to carry a minimum of:
Similar to "Uninsured Motorist" coverage, insurance carriers in the state of South Carolina are required to offer “Underinsured Motorist” coverage (UIM), which covers you if you sustain losses and the at-fault driver does not carry enough insurance. Unlike UM coverage however, you are not required to purchase this coverage (although we recommend that you do).
In South Carolina failure to carry the minimum required limits could result in loss of driving privileges, as well as a $550 fine. Although the above limits are legally necessary, it is worth noting many insurance companies do not consider them sufficient to cover you (and others) in the event of an accident.
Okay, but what do those terms truly mean?
Assuming that you are not an insurance professional who uses this jargon every day, it will probably be beneficial to have a quick refresher on what these terms mean and how they are applied.
You’ve probably seen Bodily Injury and Property Damage on your policies in the past, as these are standard in every state. These coverages are called your “liability” coverage, meaning they cover others if you are deemed at fault in an accident, up to the specified limit. They may appear on your policy as an abbreviation, like 100/300/100, meaning $100,000 Bodily Injury per person, $300,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $100,000 Property Damage per accident.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist coverage may also appear in that abbreviated format on your policy. This coverage provides protection for you and your passengers in the event that the at-fault party in an accident either doesn’t have insurance, (uninsured) or, if they do not carry enough liability insurance (underinsured).
Doesn’t everyone already have insurance?
You may wonder, is this necessary if it is already against the law to drive without insurance in South Carolina? Well, unfortunately it is estimated that about 1 in every 13 drivers in South Carolina is driving around without car insurance.
We’d love to help!
Now that you have brushed up on your South Carolina auto insurance knowledge, it’s time to get to the good stuff: matching you with the coverages you need at the best price possible. With our extensive network of insurance carriers, we’re able to shop your insurance with multiple carriers simultaneously, making sure that you’re getting a great rate every time. We can compare auto insurance rates and get you an immediate insurance quote.
We have a user-friendly online application that you can fill out at your convenience, and we’ll do all the shopping for you. Better yet, if you’re currently insured and just looking for a better rate, simply send us your current policy documents through our compare and save feature! We can easily provide you with free auto insurance quotes, with no phone calls.
We’ll shop for a better deal, matching the coverages from your current policy. The best part is, if you’re already getting a great deal, we will let you know!